† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

Hey ! I hope you’re alright on this post-exams -namely, the BAC (french A-levels of sorts)- Wednesday. I won’t longer on that topic to not rub it in the face of those who didn’t pass, but given the official numbers I want to congratulate everyone who did pass !

Today is the international Kiss Day, as you’ve probably noticed since every social media website uses the #internationalkissday hashtag. That gave me an idea to focus my article around the mouth, more specifically the lips. The result is me sharing all my favourite lipsticks with you ! Whether they are matt or shiny or more liquid looking. Let’s go !

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

I’ll begin with a MAC lipstick that I bought a very long time ago, and which I still like to wear every now and then. It’s part of the Retro Matte, which means it is a matt one. I’ve tried many other matt lipsticks from other brands, and this one tends to be uncomfortable and to dry my lips, however it is really long-wearing ! Mine’s the Ruby Woo shade.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

Too Faced‘s Melted are great lipsticks. They are very easy to apply and are very comfortable to wear. Once they’re dry they almost look matt. They do last less long than the previous one and are more easily removed, but that also makes them more pleasant to wear. Mine are the Nude and Velvet shades.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

  • Melted – Too Faced (Nude)
  • Melted – Too Faced (Velvet)

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

Now here are some real beauties. I was ecstatic when I heard that my favorite designer -Marc Jacobs- had his own line of cosmetics, and I couldn’t wait to try them out. The Marc Jacobs Beauty line has -amongst other things- a few lipsticks. I was able to try the Voilà!Neo-Noir, Showstopper and Understudy shades of the LoveMarc and New Nudes collections. They are very creamy, very easy to apply and extremely comfortable.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

  • LoveMarc – Marc Jacobs Beauty (Voilà!)
  • LoveMarc – Marc Jacobs Beauty (Neo-Noir)
  • LoveMarc – Marc Jacobs Beauty (Showstopper)
  • New Nudes – Marc Jacobs Beauty (Understudy)

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

My lastest find is NYX Cosmetics. As I’ve told you in the article -and video- that I’ve “devoted” to the brand not long ago, I had been hearing about this brand for a while but I had never tried it. But, since they’ve opened a shop here in Toulouse I was able to try some of their products, including some liquid lipsticks ! And I love them. They are so easy to apply, contrary to one might think , and very pleasant to wear. As they dry, they get a matt look while still being comfortable and last throughout the day. They’re from the Liquid Suede line, and mine are in the Vintage and Stone Fox shades.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

Urban Decay‘s Revolution lip glosses are ideal for the summer. They’re comfortable, they don’t “smear” despite the heat, and the colours are absolutely gorgeous and very bright. The first application can be a little challenging, but once you’re used to it, it’s very easy to apply. A nice thing about those is that the colour’s intensity will change depending on how much to apply, the more to put on, the more intense the colour will look. I’ve got the 69, Punch Drunk and Bittersweet shades.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

Now for my favourite lipsticks ! Every single Urban Decay lipstick is in that category, but most of all : the matt ones. They are really great products, very pealsant to work with, to apply and to wear. The Sheer line has creamy, glossy lipsticks which are very comfortable. In that line I have the F-Bomb and Anarchy shades. The matts from the Matte collection are much more comfortable than the ones from MAC that I mentioned earlier. They’re easy to apply and last all day-long, and more importantly, they don’t dry out the lips. In that collection I have the Bad Blood and Blackmail -my very favourite- shades. Lastly, a new line in association with Gwen Stefani that -to be honest- I have discovered during sales. From this line, only the blush palette really interested me, but since those lipsticks were on sale and I really wanted to try them out and I was very pleasantly surprised. The 714 shade is matt, really beautiful and it lasts all night long -I can tell ! The Firebird shade is a little more creamy which makes it possible to change the colour’s intensity, and perfect for summer.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

To wrap this article up I’ll say a few things about lip crayons. It’s no secret that a good base is necessary to have a nice, lasting lipstick. I still haven’t had the opportunity to try Urban Decay‘s Ultimate Ozone base, which is a transparent crayon that goes well with every shade. However, I do love to use the 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencils, especially the 69 one with my MAC‘s Ruby Woo lipstick, and the Bad Blood one with my Bad Blood lipstick from Urban Decay. They help make the lipstick’s colours more intense, and help prevent it from smearing. And of course they help it last longer. The same is true about the crayons from the Gwen Stefani line, specifically the 714 and Firebird shades.

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

† Makeup | International Kissing Day

  • 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil – Urban Decay (69)
  • 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil – Urban Decay (Bad Blood)
  • UD Gwen Stefani – Urban Decay (714)
  • UD Gwen Stefani – Urban Decay (Firebird)

Here it is, the end of my 400miles long article. Sorry about that , but I do have a lot of shades, and I even had to pick which ones I was going to talk about. Just imagine how much longer this would have been if I had talked about all of them haha. I really hope that you liked it. As you’ve noticed I haven’t made a video for this article, as I didn’t think it’d be interesting to just see me apply lipstick, take it off imediately and put a different one, and repeat. Don’t hesitate to share which ones are you favourites, so that I can add them to my collection ! Have a nice week !

Signature

TRANSLATED FROM FRENCH BY OLIVIER RENAULT.
Leave a Reply

