† Empties | Makeup & Beauty

Hello ! Brace yourselves, this is going to be one hell of an article and the same can be said about the video. The reason is simple : I’m going to talk about each products used in details in the video and I’ll be doing the same here. I’d like to point out that although almost every single product I used was from LUSH I did not and still do not get anything from them for free. I’ve paid for every one of them. Yay me.

I’ve been piling up almost-but-not-quite-empty products in a bag for ages, and I suddenly had the idea to actually do something with them, since I was doing nothing with them other than keeping them and occasionally staring at them… If you happen to like this kind of video, I promise I’ll plan it better next time so it doesn’t end up being 20 minutes long, with a mile long article. Anyway, happy reading, hoping my advices and researches will prove useful to you !


  • De-Slick – Urban Decay 

This is THE mattifying powder that any self-respecting beauty addict ought to have. It’s compact, vegan, cruelty-free and mainly made of rice powder which helps absorb your face’s sebum and therefore prevents you from looking like a disco ball. It’s transparent, which only means it has no shade, so you cna aplly it directly on your face or on your foundation and it goes well with any skin tone. You can find it directly on the Urban Decay website for 29€ or at Sephora for 32€.

  • Naked Skin Concealer – Urban Decay 

As I’ve said in the video, this is one of my favourite concealer -along with Katvond Beauty‘s. It fades perfectly and cover equally every inch of your skin. One thing I didn’t know is that this concealer has anti-aging agents in it, such as Japanese green tea. It also is vegan and cruelty-free. You can find all the shades -mine being Light Warm- on the Urban Decay website for 23€ or at Sephora for 24€.

  • Better Than Sex – Too Faced 

What more can I say about this products without driving you crazy ? You know I love it with all my heart, and I won’t change it for anything ! It truly is perfect. Make your eyelashes long, black, it doesn’t make big messes and it open the gaze like no other… In other words it is perfection given form. And it also is vegan and cruelty-free, what more can you ask ? Its price ? 24.50€ at Sephora.

  • New – Lush 

It may not look like it, but this is a great shampoo. It’s a good pick on both the economic and ecologic points of view. This pebble will last months. I’m not going to copy/paste the Lush website, but the thing that really got my attention is the stimulating effects it has on the scalp and therefore on hair growth, and I really believe it works. This stimulation is made possible through a mixture of nettle, peppermint, clove and cinnamon essential oils, and they aslo added rosemary to soothe the scalp. This is the perfect shampoo, for 8.95€ only, available on Lush‘s website.

  • Buffy – Lush 

This is probably my favourite exfoliating ever since I first found it. It’s hydrating, and not abrasive. Rice, almonds and grounded azuki beans provide it with the perfect gumming. In addition, it’s made very hydrating thanks to its cocoa butter, shea butter and lavander essential oil. It exists in various sizes, my personnal favourtie being the 90g one because it fits perfectly in its box and can be carried everywhere. Price ranges between 10.95€ and 17.95€ depending on the size you want, available on Lush‘s website or in their stores.

  • Fresh Farmacy 

I don’t think I need to introduce this one to you guys, give for how long I’ve been using it and telling you about it on my blog ! But how could I not mention it ? This face soap is perfect -I know, I’ve said that before. It’s made of calamine powder and chamomile essential oil which helps soothe sensitive skins, and also has rose absolute and tea tree extracts for their antisecptic properties and effect in evening the skin. Told you it was perfect. And it’s even better when used with a Konjac sponge. This one also exists in various sizes which means the price varies too:from 8.95€ for 100g to 42.75€ for 500g. You can find it all on Lush‘s website.

  • Tea Tree Water – Lush 

As I explained in the video, this spray can be used in several ways. You can aplly it with a cotton pad to eliminate any impurities, remove makeup or do whatever else you might want to do with it. You can slo apply it directly on your skin using the spray. Tea Tree has anti-bacterial, antifungal and antimicrobial properties, its grapefruit extracts provide plenty of vitamins, and it also has antiseptic properties thanks to the juniper berry in it. To put it simply, it’s the spray you need to alwawys have with you. Count 6.95€ for 100ml, or 13.95€ for 250ml. Available on Lush‘s website.

  • 9 to 5 

The website describes it as a cleanser, but I use it as a full-fledged makeup remover. It has the perfect texture and it’s efficient enough to get rid of waterproof makeup and even liquid matte lipsticks without breaking a sweat But what I like most abou this cleanser is its ingredients : colombian orchid, sweet almond oil, ylang-ylang essential oil for instance. It removes makeup and hydrates the skin at the same time. It also exists in several sizes which you can find on the Lush website. The one I showcased is the 240g version, available for 15.45€.

  • Dream Cream – Lush 

I won’t make a fuss about this one. The thing I like about this cream is that it penetrates the skin almost immediately after application which is great. You do’nt have to wait forever for your cream to be kind enough to dry. Just apply it, get dressed, and you’re good to go. Now obviously the ingredients in it are great too : oat milk, rose absolute and cocoa butter. But the best part is its price : 19.95€ for a 240g jar whcih took forever to finish. Thank you, Lush !

  • Ocean Salt – Lush 

This exfoliating, for both body and face, is self-preserving, meaning the vegan version is finally available ! As I said in the video it’s based on lime infused in vodka and sea salt which prevents bacterias from proliferating. You can learn more about it on Lush‘s website. The 120g jar is available for 12.95€.

  • Skin’s Shangri La – Lush

This is the only product on this list which I haven’t –and will not– buy again for the simple reason that it’s not vegan. It’s made of beeswax, cocoa butter, jojoba oil, etc… I can’t say anything bd about it apart from the fact that it’s not vegan. To me it was by far the best night cream. It’s rich and very hydrating. I can only recommend it to you, despite its price : 44.95€ for 45g… But believe me, it’s definitely worth it, and if you still haven’t made up your minde, just take a look at it on Lush‘s website or ask for a sample !

  • Magical Moringa – Lush 

Mea Culpa ! I talked rubbish in the video, but since I was absolutely sure about what I was saying I guess it’s half-forgiven already ? I don’t know why but I was sure that my dear Magical Moringa base/cream wasn’t vegan. You know, it’s the one I keep talking about over and over in every single one of my makeup tutorials… Well, turns out it actually is vegan! And now I’ll rush to Lush to buy more of it ! This is THE cream, THE primer for every makeup, the one we should all have. It makes the skin smooth, mattify it, and makes your foundation last a lot longer. And of course its ingredients are no strangers to that. Moringa oil, brier oil -rich in vitamins, argant oil -curative and antioxidant, not to mention vitellaria butter and corn starch to keep the skin matte all-day long. Perfection in a 55g jar for 35.95€ on Lush‘s website.

  • Skin Drink – Lush 

This is my day cream during winter, now and for the forseeable future. It’s perfect for a dry skin under winter’s cold assaults. I dare you to find a richer, more hydrating cream with sesame oil, avocado, aloe vera, sweet almond oil and cocoa butter ! If you’re still unconvinced after this just go to the nearest Lush store and ask for a sample. But honestly, if your skin is anything linke mine in winter, I dout you’ll be disappointed. Especially since it’s only 18.95€ the 45g jar.

  • Celestial – Lush 

Now that you’re familiar with the cream I use in winter, here is the one I use the rest of the year. Once again, it’s perfect for dry skin. Its ingredients protect the skin from any external assaults and guarantee a long-lasting hydration. Contains vanilla water, sweet almond milk and oil, cocoa butter and colombian orchid. Anothing wonder in a jar, 19.45€ for 45g on Lush‘s website.

This is it for this article. I hope it was as thourough as it felt when I was writing it, and I hope it was helpful and educative. Should you need any more informations please do not hesitate to look at the companies websites or to directly ask in their stores. I’ve tried to summarize but I’m just a makeup artist and model, I’m not a professional which means some of those products are beyond my understanding. Have a nice week, and i’ll see you soon !

Translated from french by Olivier Renault.
Leave a Reply

